In the Kitchen with the… Hubbies: Josh’s Kitchen Sink Chili

New Image

I like recipes. I like recipes because I am not very good at making up my own. I’m creative… but only once I have a good base recipe to follow. My husband however, is great at taking all of the leftover and on-the-verge-of-getting-thrown-away produce from the week and producing an amazing meal. I wasn’t around to see the entire process but as you can see, the end result was colorful and delicious. So, without further ado, I give you Josh’s Kitchen Sink Chili (which he made with Vegan Cornbread).

Josh’s Kitchen Sink Chili

Ingredients
one large sweet potato, skin still on (but scrubbed clean)
two onions, diced
28-oz can of diced tomatoes, with their juices
one can of pinto beans, drained and rinsed
one can of garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
one can of black beans, drained and rinsed
3 medium carrots, diced
4 celery stalks, diced
1 tablespoon cumin
2 teaspoons chili powder
salt and pepper to taste
one cup of cilantro, diced

Directions
1. Scrub sweet potato, carrots, and celery. Open tomatoes and beans; rinse cans of beans.
2. Dice potato, onions, carrots, and celery.
3. Dump tomatoes and their juices in a Dutch oven. Bring to simmer. Throw in all other ingredients. Let simmer for 25-30 minutes.
4. Sprinkle cilantro on top. Voila! You’re done!

